Sometimes you need to jump into Lightroom before completing your image selection in Select, e.g. to whip up a sneak-peak for your clients. There are two ways to deal with this workflow.

If you didn't do any editing or rating in Lightroom, or you are happy to for any edits to be overwritten:

  1. Complete your selection in Select. Select the final images that you want to bring into Lightroom and click the [SHIP] button. If you previously imported all the images into Lightroom the SHIP action won't work so skip straight to step 3.
  2. Now in Lightroom, import the remaining images.
  3. Select all images and right-click. Select ‘Metadata’ > ‘Read Metadata from File’ – This will update the metadata to reflect ratings shown in Select. Note: Any edits or rating you previously did in Lightroom will be overwritten for the selected images. So, if there are any images remaining in Lightroom that you didn't end up selecting, you should be able to filter them out and remove them now.

If you want to preserve any edits/ratings you did in Lightroom:

  1. Open the project in Lightroom.
  2. Select all images in the project with (Command A) and right-click on one of them.
  3. Select ‘Metadata>Save Metadata to File’ – This will write any edits and ratings done in Lightroom to sidecar (.XMP) files in the folder where your images are stored.
  4. Now you can import the project into Select and do your selection. If you previously imported it into Select head into Grid View. Click on the three dots on the Source Card (located under the project title) and click 'Refresh Source Folder'. Or click the File menu , then 'Refresh Source Folder'. This will reimport the assets from the project including the updated metadata.
  5. Complete your selection in Select. Select the final images that you want to bring into Lightroom and click the [SHIP] button.
  6. Now in Lightroom, import the remaining images.
  7. Select all images and right-click. Select ‘Metadata’ > ‘Read Metadata from File’ – This will update the metadata to show any ratings you applied in Select – and because you saved the metadata earlier you will preserve any edits you already made.

Important notes:

If you don't 'Save Metadata to File' before adding/changing ratings in Select, then you 'Read Metadata from file' – any edits or rating done in Lightroom will be overwritten for the selected images.

If you 'Save Metadata to File' after adding/changing ratings in Select, the ratings you did in Select will be overwritten.

Did this answer your question?